Call: 770-736-9190 / 888-936-9190
Login
Select font size :
A+
A-

UPDATE: Paid Family Leave Laws

Be sure to review this summary of state laws requiring paid family leave if you have out-of-state employees. Some of the changes were effective 1/1/2020.

Massachusetts

  • Effective 1/1/2020
  • Affects all employers with at least one employee in Massachusetts
  • Eligible employees will have earned a minimum of $4,700 in the last 4 calendar quarters before leave           
  • Employee contribution will be .62% of eligible wages for medical leave and .13% for family leave
  • Employer is required to contribute at least .372% of eligible wages
  • Maximum leave will be 20 weeks for medical leave and 12 weeks for family leave, except for care of a service member which will be 26 weeks
  • The first 50% of Average Weekly Wage equal to or less than the State Average Weekly Wage the benefit percentage will be 80%.  For the portion above the Average Weekly Wage the benefit percentage will be 50%
  • The maximum weekly benefit will be 64% of the State Average Weekly Wage

New York

  • Affects all employers with at least one employee in New York
  • Eligible employees who work 20 hours a week if they have worked for 26 consecutive weeks; or if they have worked 175 days preceding the first full day leave begins (does not have to be consecutive)
  • Employee contribution will be .27% of gross weekly wage with a maximum of $197/week
  • Maximum leave will be 10 weeks
  • Benefit percentage will be 60%
  • Maximum weekly benefit will be $841

New Jersey

  • Affects employers with 30 or more employees worldwide
  • Eligible employees will have worked 1,000 hours is 12 months prior to leave
  • Maximum leave will be 12 weeks
  • Benefit percentage will be 66.7%
  • Maximum weekly benefit will be $650

California

  • Affects employers with at least one employee in California
  • Eligible employees will have earned at least $300 during the base period
  • Employee contribution will be 1% of State Disability Income taxable wages with an annual cap of $1,183.71
  • 100% employee funded
  • Maximum benefit length will be 6 weeks until 7/1/2020 when it will be 8 weeks
  • Benefit percentage will be 60% to 70%
  • Maximum weekly benefit will be $1,300

Washington

  • Effective 1/1/2020
  • Affects all employers with at least one employee in Washington
  • Eligible employees will have worked 820 hours in 4 of the last 5 quarters
  • Employee contribution will be .4% to a maximum of $132,900 in wages
  • Employee will contribute 63.333% of funding; employer will contribute 36.667%; employers with less than 50 employees are not required to fund
  • Maximum leave will be 12 weeks medical, 12 weeks family, 16 weeks combined.  For complications of pregnancy 18 weeks
  • Benefit percentage will be determined by a formula based on the State Average Weekly Wage
  • Maximum weekly benefit will be $1,000

Oregon

  • Effective 1/1/2022
  • Will affect all employers with one employee in Oregon
  • Eligible employees will have earned $1,000 in year prior to leave
  • Employee contribution will be 1% to a maximum of $132,900 in wages
  • Employee will contribute 60% of funding; employer 40%
  • Maximum leave will be 12 weeks with 2 additional weeks for pregnancy, childbirth or related medical condition
  • Benefit percentage will be determined by a formula based on the State Average Weekly Wage
  • Maximum weekly benefit will be 120% of State Average Weekly Wage

This is the most current list available as of publishing. Changes occur with little to no notice. If you have employees who work remotely or have offices in another state, you need to know what their family paid leave laws. Contact an E2E Expert if you need help.

Back